We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse this repository, you give consent for essential cookies to be used. You can read more about our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

Durham Research Online
You are in:

Percy Bysshe Shelley : the major works.

O’Neill, M. and Leader, Z. (2003) 'Percy Bysshe Shelley : the major works.', Oxford: Oxford University Press. Oxford world's classics.


The following text is taken from the publisher's website: "Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) was a Romantic poet of radical imaginings, living in an age of change. His tempestuous life and friendship with Byron, and his tragically early death, at times threatened to overwhelm his legacy as a poet, but today his standing as one of the foremost English authors is assured. This freshly edited anthology - the fullest one-volume selection in English - includes all but one of the longer poems, from Queen Mab onwards, in their entirety. Only Laon and Cythna is excerpted, in a generous selection. As well as works such asPrometheus Unbound , The Mask of Anarchy , and Adonais , the volume includes a wide range of Shelley's shorter poems and much of his major prose, including A Defence of Poetry and almost all of A Philosophical View of Reform . Shelley emerges from these pages as a passionate and eloquent opponent of tyranny and a champion of human possibility."

Item Type:Book
Keywords:Romantic poetry, Nineteenth-century literature.
Full text:Full text not available from this repository.
Publisher Web site:
Record Created:01 Nov 2006
Last Modified:10 Apr 2012 10:12

Social bookmarking: del.icio.usConnoteaBibSonomyCiteULikeFacebookTwitterExport: EndNote, Zotero | BibTex
Look up in GoogleScholar | Find in a UK Library